Zain Cybersquatted

Cybersquatting is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad-faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else.

Someone set up a blog called Zain Kuwait on domain zain-kwt.com, they did not even get a good picture of the Zain Logo.

Looking up his whois info about the squatter, it seems he/she set up the blog on 13 September 2007, and his email is onasiss.11@hotmail.com. I doubt Zain would use a hotmail email for their registration. The telephone number he put is 9690969 which is MTC/Zain's voicemail number.

Very amateur but it could fool some people. The orginal Zain webpage for kuwait can be found here.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
The Fake Zain

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
The Original Zain


  1. Interesting but annoying phenomenon.

  2. 7esbe allah 3ala ebleesa
    ya3lia ma yrba7
    yan9ib 3al awadim

  3. didn't get it. how it could fool people?

  4. That stinks. Reminds me of the debacle when 2M forgot to renew their domain reg, and a squatter put up a porn site.